Top 5 Friday: Legos, Kindness Club, and a 5th grade gentleman

5. Ice bucket challenges: Throughout the week, quite a few Love Hall faculty members accepted and participated in the ice bucket challenge to raise awareness for ALS. Have you seen the video of Mr. McKnight, Ms. Tedesco, and Ms. Padgett getting drenched? Check it out on Westminster’s Facebook page! Mr. Mosley, Ms. Throckmorton, Ms. Boyette, Ms. Hight, Ms. Heller, Mr. Sottnick, Mrs. Dick, Mrs. Kopp, Ms. Linkon, and Mrs. Stallworth were some of the other participants. 

4. A personal Legoland: Here’s a sentence I had never heard before this week: “Ms. Strother, get ready for your whole life to change if you go to my basement.” The first grade boy who had just said this through a mouthful of green beans looked at me. I looked at him and raised an eyebrow. He continued excitedly, “I have thousands of Legos. They will change your life! I promise!”

3. Thinking of others: A second grade girl approached me in the hallway and said, “I have an idea that I have been thinking about. I want to talk to you about it. What if everybody in the school brought in coins, and we put all of the coins all together, and then we gave the coins to a school that doesn’t have a lot of money?” She and I have a meeting scheduled for next week.

2. Kindness Club: Monday was the first meeting of this semester’s Kindness Club in the ASK! program, and we began our time together by being kind to fellow members and to ourselves. Club members decorated small treasure boxes to keep at home. Next week, the students will learn about the concept of “paying it forward.” Throughout the semester, we’ll be out and about, spreading kindness to unsuspecting Westminster teachers, staff members, and students!

1. Quiet thoughtfulness: Yesterday morning, I peeked into the chapel as two fifth grade classes began a joint morning meeting, and the teachers and students invited me to stay. All of the chairs were taken, and as I looked around for a place to sit on the floor, a boy quietly stood up and moved to the ground. He drew no attention to himself; he didn’t even make eye contact with me. He didn’t ask for a “thank you.” A true gentleman.

Actions really do speak louder than words.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Kindness Club back in action

One response to “Top 5 Friday: Legos, Kindness Club, and a 5th grade gentleman”

  1. selteam2013 says :

    I love hearing about the thoughtful fifth grade boy who gave up his seat for a visitor! Sounds like a Westminster student! 🙂

Leave a Reply

